Blood Diamond: Leonardo DiCaprio

Blood Diamond would have been a successful if it wasn’t for Leonardo DiCaprio’s accent. I watched the movie when it first came out, and I absolutely loved it. I felt that the movie was informative and very conscious of a current crisis. I first took interest in conflict diamonds when I read an article in a magazine, then I heard Kanye West’s song “Diamonds are Forever”. Both of these media forms shaped my knowledge. Therefore, when I watched Blood Diamond for the first time, the movie appeared authentic. Watching Blood Diamond for the second time was difficult. The visuals worked for me. The scenes of people running, dust, smoke, and the entire landscape made the movie appear genuine. When I heard Di Caprio’s accent, the visuals no longer worked. His accent seemed forced and lacked connection to the place in which he lived. Perhaps his status as a star made him seem less authentic. Needless to say, I was not convinced by his role.

Leave a Reply

